What's the weather like in Iceland?

How cold does it get in winter in Iceland, and how warm does it get in summer? I’ve heard to always expect all sorts of weather, but do I really need to bring thermal underwear in summertime?

Hi Nanna,

I can only rely on my present experience of Iceland in winter 2016. Icelandic people often say “If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes” and it’s right. You can leave the car on a clear heaven and 5 minutes later you will be facing a snow storm.

You should dress in layers so it’s easy to undress or to stay warm. I have no experience of Iceland in summertime!

Cheers.

Hi Nanna! I definitely agree with @Maarten_Rediers, the weather in Iceland changes like nothing I have ever experienced before! I will also add that the wind is something you have to prepare yourself for and a windproof jacket and a good woolen beanie cap are also essential alongside the thermal underwear. I experienced Iceland in winter and I definitely can say they are not exaggerating when they say you would need gloves, ear warmers, and sturdy WATERPROOF shoes. It’s much more easy in summer temperature-wise but really the wind!!! Do not make the same mistake I did, and invest yourself in some windproof jackets.

When it comes to weather in Iceland you really can’t get any crazier. Just today we had snow and then 20 minutes later sun and a mostly clear sky.