Mt. Esjan how to get there and how hard is it?

How hard is it to hike Mt. Esjan and how to I get there? I wish to go to the location “stone” on the mountain and have good running shoes.

HI! I actually did exactly this on August 2016!

I am a couch potato and do not consider myself anywhere near fit but I actually managed getting to “stone” on Mt. Esjan ha!
I am not sure about running shoes because I took the hike with proper hiking shoes(did not really want to get injured halfway up the mountain) and I believe I made the right decision because even though the hike up to the flat part of the mountain was relatively easy, the journey up to the “stone” was rather difficult as the plains are covered with jagged rocks. It really depends on how experienced you are on hiking, but as a complete beginner I kind of also regretted not having the trekking pole with me, especially when going down the rocky part of the mountain. It could be very unstable and to be honest I did not really know how to best set my footing :confused:

The mountain itself is about 40 minutes drive from Reykjavik through Mosfellsbaer but I remember also seeing a bus stop right at the foot of the mountain! I would personally recommend taking the car there though! Another recommendation is to pop by the town pool in Mosfellsbaer to rest your tired muscles in the hot pool, and then get some hearty burger at Ruby Tuesdays haha :smiley:

Hi there,

I tried to get up there some when in the fall and I did not succeed… partly because I am super unathletic and partly because the sun was going down and we started too late to return in daylight!

I thought that the beginning was quite tough and rather steep, and if you are in a bad shape like me you will be out of breath quickly.

We also had heavy wind which was making it harder. The view from the point where we returned was super lovely however :slight_smile: