Afraid of driving in Iceland

I’m an okay driver, but I’m not used to driving in snow. How skilled does one have to be to drive in Iceland? I’d like to travel in the Golden Circle and the Snæfellsnes peninsula and see the Glacier Lagoon, but I don’t now if I should take a guided tour or do a self-drive tour. Do the rental cars have winter tires? What can I do if something happens (like, does the car have an insurance and what do I do if I get stuck)?

I also don’t have an international drivers licence, is that ok?

I had absolutely no experience driving in snow and was totally fine! I came early January and rented my own car. Car rentals have certain types of insurance included and you can opt to buy additional insurance if you wish. A larger rental car might give you more peace of mind/feelings of stability, but I rented a little one and was fine. You don’t need an international drivers license. Day trips to places are possible through your companies but are easily triple the cost of renting your own car.

Regular license is fine. While it’s best if you have some experience driving on snow, the main roads tend to be plowed regularly. Driving in Iceland is a joy by itself. Just be careful of potential black ice (happens when temps are right around freezing and if there was recent rain).

Don’t speed, don’t go off-road (unless it’s a designated parking/pit stop P area).

Rental companies have all the insurance you need, but they do tend to upsell you. It’s very expensive. You can get insurance online (collision damage waiver, etc), much cheaper than onsite at the car companies. But additional gravel insurance (that you do get onsite) is recommended since there’s always a chance another car ahead of you kicks up debris that hits you.